ANCHORAGE, ALASKA – Alaska Fairbanks defeated Alaska Anchorage 2-1 to claim the 2019 Alaska Airlines Governor’s Cup Saturday.

After a scoreless first period, Corey Renwick scored his first goal of the season to give the Seawolves a 1-0 lead at 2:13 of the second period. Renwick was standing in front of the crease when he jammed the puck over the goal line. Drake Glover and Carmine Buono assisted on the goal.

The Seawolves had a chance to extend its lead to 2-0, but Anton Martinsson stopped a penalty shot by Malcolm Hayes at 3:42 of the second period.

Tyler Cline put the Nanooks on the board with a power-play goal at 11:31 of the second period.

The Nanooks took the lead with their second power-play goal of the evening at 14:40 of the third period after Kylar Hope ripped a shot from the slot.

The Seawolves could not score the equalizer despite a power play opportunity at 15:27 and an extra attacker for the final 1:40.

UAF finished 2-for-3 on the powerplay, and UAA was 0-for-5.

The Seawolves led 25-24 in shots.

Kristian Stead made 22 saves in net for UAA.

Alaska Anchorage finishes the 2018-19 season with a 3-28-3 overall and a 2-23-2 WCHA record under first-year coach Matt Curley.