ANCHORAGE, ALASKA – Current Alaska Anchorage student-athlete Caroline Kurgat and former Seawolf head coach Brush Christianson both earned honors from the Alaska Sports Hall of Fame.

Kurgat was awarded the Pride of Alaska Award for Outstanding Athletic Achievement. Kurgat won national titles in the 5,000 and 3,000-meter runs at the NCAA indoor track and field championships, leading the Seawolves to a program-best fourth-place in the women’s standings. She has won five national titles during her career. In January 2019, Kurgat also ran the fastest 3,000 and 5,000-meter times in NCAA Division II history.

Christiansen was awarded the Joe Floyd Award for Lasting Significant and Lasting Contribution to Alaska through sports. Christiansen helped start the UAA hockey program and coached the team to a 287-229-30 record from 1979-96. His biggest success was leading the Seawolves to the quarterfinals of the 1991 NCAA Tournament in just their sixth season of Division I play. He is the all-time winningest coach in program history with 287 wins. Christiansen has remained active in Anchorage’s hockey community for decades, coaching at youth levels, and helping putting on camps and clinics.

Kurgat and Christiansen will be recognized April 25 at the Class of 2019 Hall of Fame ceremony headlined by individual inductees Chad Bentz and Corey Cogdell-Unrein, event category winner Alaska Run for Women and the moment winner of Kodiak’s upset of perennial powerhouse East Anchorage in the 2001 high school state title game.

The ceremony is from 7-9 p.m. at the Anchorage Museum atrium and is free and open to the public.