The University of Alaska Anchorage Nordic ski team will compete for the final time at the NCAA Championships in Steamboat Springs, Colo. March 7-10. The championships will be held on the same courses used at the RMISA Championships Feb. 23-25. This is the fifth time (1993, 2006, 2010, 2016) that Steamboat Springs, Colo., has hosted the NCAA Championships.

NCAA Experience
The Seawolves will be sending the full allotment of 12 student-athletes (six alpine, six Nordic) to the NCAA Championships. Nine of UAA’s 12 qualifiers have previously competed at the NCAA Championships. Charley Field will be making her fourth appearance in Alpine, and Toomas Kollo will be making his third trip in Nordic. Dominic Unterberger, Anthony Naciuk and Alix Wells will each be making their second appearances in alpine. Hailey Swirbul, Natalie Hynes and Zackarias Toresson will be making their second trips in Nordic.

Alaska Anchorage has a strong history at the NCAA Championships. The Seawolves have won nine individual titles (six Nordic, three Alpine) with Andreas Adde (slalom) winning the most recent in 2010. Last year marked the first time since 2007 that UAA did not finish in the top-10 as it placed 11th. Alaska Anchorage’s highest finish at the NCAA Championships came in 2009 when it finished fourth.

RMISA Honors
Sophomore Hailey Swirbul recently earned a pair of honors from the Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association. Swirbul was named the RMISA Skier of the Week after finishing fourth in the 15-kilometer freestyle and fifth in the five-kilometer classic races at the RMISA/NCAA Regional Championships last weekend. Swirbul earned All-RMISA Second Team honors after finishing in the top-five, with three podiums, in all six races she competed in.