ANCHORAGE, ALASKA – The University of Alaska Anchorage ski team won the Alaska Cup over the University of Alaska Fairbanks Sunday.

The Cup concluded with a four-person mixed gender freestyle relay at Kincaid Park.

Alaska Pacific University took the top spot in the relay finishing in 61:41. APU’s second team finished in 64:39, and UAA’s top team was three seconds back (64:42) in third. The team was comprised of Marte Hakenstad-Braten, Hailey Swirbol, Tracen Knopp and Toomas Kollo.

The Seawolves second team of Casey Wright, Hannah Rudd, Zackarias Torreson and Marcus Deuling placed sixth in 66:21.

The Alaska Cup champion was determined by combing the times of the top-three men and women from Saturday’s classic race and the top-two relay teams from today. UAA (4:49.49) finished over six minutes ahead of UAF (4:56.10) in the Cup.

The Alaska Cup debuted in 2004-05 and this is the fourth time that the Seawolves have won it. UAA's previous wins came in 2005-06, 2011-12 and 2014-15. 

Alaska Anchorage will next compete at the US National Championships Jan. 3-8 at Kincaid Park.