NEW ORLEANS, La. – A total of seven Seawolves received All-Academic status, while both the men’s and women’s programs earned a spot amongst the Division II All-Academic Teams, both revealed by the U.S. Track & Field Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) on Thursday.  

Wasilla’s Mariah Burroughs, junior Caroline Kurgat, Anchorage’s Kaitlyn Maker, Soldotna’s Danielle McCormick, and junior Tamara Perez were honored with All-Academic recognition for the women. This year, 404 total women received the honor from 137 different institutions, while 53 tallied a perfect 4.00 grade point average. The program combined for a 3.42 GPA to earn All-Academic Team status.

On the men’s side, junior Edwin Kangogo and senior Michael Mendenhall joined 267 other athletes representing 118 distinct institutions, with 20 men earning a perfect 4.00 GPA. The men’s team used a GPA of 3.07 for All-Academic Team honors.

The individual All-Academic honor is earned by athletes who reached a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.25 and finished among the top 30 percent of eligible runners during his or her regional championships and/or the top half of the field at the NCAA Championships.  

To qualify as an USTFCCCA All-Academic Cross Country Team, institutions must have compiled a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.0 and compiled a team score at its respective NCAA Division II regional championship.

Full list of 2016 Division II Men's and Women's All-Academic Individuals:

Full list of 2016 Division II Men’s and Women’s All-Academic Teams: