INDIANAPOLIS – The Alaska Anchorage women’s basketball team has officially claimed its sixth consecutive NCAA Tournament appearance, earning the No. 3 seed for the  NCAA Division II West Regional Championships as the NCAA unveiled the 64-team national field and regional host sites Sunday.

The Great Northwest Athletic Conference regular-season champion Seawolves (28-2) will face No. 6 seed and Pacific West Conference Tournament champion Hawaii Pacific (23-8) in Friday’s first round in La Jolla, Calif., at 11 a.m. Alaska Daylight Time. UAA and HPU played earlier this season, with the Seawolves earning a 65-54 win over the Sharks on Nov. 24 in Anchorage.

The winner of the UAA/HPU game will face the winner of No. 7 seed Humboldt State (19-7) and No. 2 seed Northwest Nazarene (28-2) in Saturday’s semifinals.

The other side of the bracket has No. 5 Cal Poly Pomona (25-5) vs. No. 4 Azusa Pacific (25-5) and No. 8 Dominican (21-6) against host and No. 1 seed UC San Diego (29-0).

Monday’s title game will determine the West Region champion, who will advance to the NCAA Div. II Elite Eight in Columbia, Ohio, Mar. 26-29.

This marks UAA’s 18th NCAA Tournament appearance overall and its 12th in the last 13 seasons. The Seawolves own West Region titles from 2008, 2009, 2012 and 2016, advancing all the way to the national title game in 2016.

2019 NCAA West Regional Schedule
RIMAC Arena - La Jolla, CA

(all times listed as Alaska Daylight Time)
Friday, March 15
11 am: Game No. 1. (Hawaii Pacfic vs. Alaska Anchoarge) 

1:30 p.m. Game No. 2. (Humboldt State vs. Northwest Nazarene) 
4 p.m. Game No. 3. (Dominican vs. UC San Diego)
6:30 p.m. Game No. 4. (Cal Poly Pomona vs. Azusa Pacific) 
Saturday, March 16
4 p.m.  Game 5 (Winner Game No. 1 vs. Winner Game 2)

6:30 p.m. Game 6 (Winner Game 3 vs. Winner Game 4)
Monday, March 18
6 p.m. Game 7 (Winner Game 5 vs. Winner Game 6)