INDIANAPOLIS – Fresh off its third straight league regular-season and tournament titles, the nationally 2nd-ranked Alaska Anchorage women’s basketball team has been selected as the top seed and host for the NCAA Division II West Region Championships, as the NCAA unveiled the 64-team national field and regional host sites Sunday. The Seawolves will host the eight-team West Regional tournament Mar. 10-13 at the Alaska Airlines Center.

The Seawolves (29-1) – who earned the Great Northwest Athletic Conference’s automatic NCAA Tournament bid – will play their opening-round game Friday, Mar. 10 at 7:30 p.m. against No. 8 seed Hawaii Pacific (21-6). The defending NCAA Div. II national runners-up are making their fourth consecutive NCAA appearance and will serve as the regional host for the second time in three seasons.

In addition to the UAA-HPU game, Friday’s other first-round matchups will be No. 3 seed Western Washington (25-5) vs. No. 6 seed Cal State East Bay (22-8) at noon, No. 2 seed California Baptist (31-2) vs. No. 7 seed Point Loma (24-5) at 2:30 p.m., and No. 4 seed UC San Diego (23-6) vs. No. 5 seed Simon Fraser (24-7) at 5 p.m.

Saturday’s semifinal contests will be held at 5 p.m. and 7:30 p.m., and Monday’s title game will be at 7 p.m., with the winner advancing to the NCAA Div. II Elite Eight, Mar. 21-24 in Columbus, Ohio.

All games from the NCAA Div. II West Regional Championships will feature live stats and video stream at

Tickets go on sale Monday, Mar. 6 at 10 a.m. AST and can be purchased one of three ways – in person at the Terry Ann Homan Box Office at the Alaska Airlines Center (3550 Providence Dr.), online at (fees apply), or charge by phone at 907-891-7410 (fees apply).

All seating will be general admission, with doors opening one hour before the first game each day.

Full-tournament passes can be purchased for $30 (adult) or $18 (student/youth/seniors*), while single-day passes will be $12 (adult) and $7 (student/youth/seniors*). Group rates are also available for parties of 10 or more. For group rates, contact Chris Gerace at 907-786-7811.
*(Student=Any college student with current valid college ID; Youth=Ages 3-18; Seniors=Age 60 and older).

2017 NCAA Div. II West Region Women’s Basketball Championships
Alaska Airlines Center – Anchorage, AK
Hosted by the University of Alaska Anchorage
All times listed as AST (1 hour behind PST)

Friday, Mar. 10 - Quarterfinals
Noon: #6 Cal State East Bay (22-8) vs # 3 Western Washington (25-5)
2:30 pm: #7 Point Loma (24-5) vs #2 California Baptist (31-2)
5:00 pm: #5 Simon Fraser (24-7) vs #4 UC San Diego (23-6)
7:30 pm: #8 Hawaii Pacific (21-6) vs #1 Alaska Anchorage (29-1)
Saturday, Mar. 11 - Semifinals
5:00 pm: CSUEB/WWU winner vs PLNU/CBU winner
7:30 pm: SFU/UCSD winner vs HPU/UAA winner
Monday, Mar. 13 - Championship
7:00 pm: Semifinal winners
(winner advances to NCAA DII Elite Eight, Mar. 21-24 in Columbus, Ohio)