ANCHORAGE – Sophomore Matt Bailey was selected as the Most Valuable Player on Thursday as the Alaska Anchorage hockey team wrapped up the 2011-12 campaign with its annual team banquet at the Anchorage Marriott Downtown. Other individual honors went to seniors Jade Portwood and Dusan Sidor and sophomore Chris Kamal and freshmen Derek Docken and Corbin Karl.

Bailey, a local of Winnipeg, Manitoba, posted a team-high-tying 17 points for the Green & Gold, including a team-high 10 goals and seven assists. The 6-1, 194-pounder also netted four power-play tallies and one game-winning goal for the MVP honor.

Racking in the Rookie of the Year honor went to defenseman Docken. From Northfield, Minnesota, Docken tallied one goal and 10 assists for 11 points. Docken dressed in 31 games, while starting in 21 of those.

The Most Improved honor went to Karl. Karl, a defenseman from Foremost, Alberta, tallied just one goal in the first half of the season, before producing two goals and three assists in the second half as one of UAA’s crucial blueliners.

Bringing home the Corner Man honor for the fourth straight season was Portwood, a local of Victoria, B.C. Measuring in at 6-3 and weighing 205 pounds, Portwood suited up for 29 games, recording four goals and six assists. Portwood became just the second Seawolf to garner the award all four years, following Justin Johnson (2002-06).

Sidor was honored with the team's Most Inspirational and the Jack Peterson Student-Athlete honors. A local of Poprad, Slovakia, Sidor became an inspiration for his work ethic during practice and off the ice. Sidor also led UAA in the classroom with a team-high 3.87 GPA. This season, Sidor received his third WCHA All-Academic Team honor and was named to the WCHA Scholar-Athlete Team for the third time – just the second Seawolf to received three honors.

The Leon Thompson Fan Favorite award, voted by the fans on, went Kamal. A local of Alpharetta, Ga., Kamal dressed in a team-high 21 games this season, including six of the last seven games.

In addition to the athlete honors, the Brush Christianson Trailblazer was awarded to Barb Luiten, while Mark Filipenko was the recipient of the Seawolf Trailblazer.

Team MVP* – Matt Bailey
Rookie of the Year* – Derek Docken
Most Inspirational* – Dusan Sidor
Most Improved*– Corbin Karl
Corner Man* – Jade Portwood
Leon Thompson Fan Favorite – Chris Kamal
Jack Peterson Student-Athlete – Dusan Sidor
Brush Christiansen Trailblazer – Barb Luiten
Seawolf Trailblazer – Mark Filipenko
 *Award voted on by members of the UAA hockey team.