SPOKANE, Wash. – Alaska Anchorage senior Taylor Rohde has been voted the Daktronics NCAA Division II West Region Men’s Basketball Player of the Year as the all-region teams were announced Wednesday.

Recently also voted the Great Northwest Athletic Conference Player of the Year, the 6-9, 255-pound center from Phoenix (Pinnacle HS) currently leads the GNAC in scoring (19.9), rebounding (8.1) and field goal percentage (62.8), helping the Seawolves to a 22-6 record and a No. 16 national rankings. UAA finished runner-up in the GNAC with a 15-3 league mark and takes a No. 2 seed into the NCAA West Region playoffs.

The two-year transfer from Arizona State has been a double-figure scorer in 24 of the last 26 games and has shot 50-plus percent from the floor in 23 of the last 24 contests, including a current streak of 15 straight. Rohde has tallied 11 games of at least 25 points this season – including three outings of 30-plus – and his eight double-doubles rank second in the league, including a 28-point, 16-rebound performance in a victory over Division I UC Irvine.

Rohde has quickly climbed up UAA’s all-time charts, reaching the 1,000-point mark in just 57 games and currently on pace to break the career record for field-goal percentage at .621. He also ranks among the program leaders in scoring average (10th, 17.8 ppg), points (13th, 1,106), rebounds (13th, 448), free throws made (4th, 280), free throws made per game (4th, 4.5), double-doubles (10th, 12) and games started (11th, 61).

Joining Rohde on the West Region first team were Western Washington forward Rory Blanche, BYU-Hawaii guard Tsung-Hsien ‘Jet’ Chang, Chico State guard Jay Flores and Montana State Billings guard Antoine Proctor.

As a first-team pick, Rohde now advances to the national ballot for Daktronics All-America honors.

The Seawolves return to action Friday when they open the NCAA Division II West Regional Championships against Montana State Billings on Friday at 1:30 p.m. AST in Bellingham, Wash.

First Team
+*Taylor Rohde, Alaska Anchorage, Center, 6-9, Sr., Phoenix, AZ
Rory Blanche, Western Washington, Forward, 6-6, Sr., Ashland, OR
+Tsung-Hsien (Jet) Chang, BYU-Hawaii, Guard, 6-4, Sr., Yilan, Taiwan
Jay Flores, Chico State, Guard, 6-0, Sr., Sacramento, CA
Antoine Proctor, Montana State Billings, Guard, 6-3, Sr., Washington, DC

Second Team
Reggie Jones, Cal State Stanislaus, Center, 6-9, Sr., Paterson, NJ
Mitchel Anderson, Cal Poly Pomona, Guard, 6-4, Jr., Temecula, CA
Blair Wheadon, Western Oregon, Guard, 6-3, Sr., Junction City, OR
Kwame Alexander, Cal State San Bernardino, Forward, 6-7, Jr., Moreno Valley, CA
Damario Sims, Chico State, Guard, 6-0, Jr., Oakland, CA

*Daktronics West Region Player of the Year
+Second team in 2011