Splash Zone
Article Image
Former UAA All-American and defending champion David Kiplagat (center) is flanked by runner-up Paul Rottich (right) and Solomon Kandie at the finish line of Saturday's race at the Delaney Park Strip.
Courtesy: Sam Wasson/UAA Athletics

Former Seawolves sweep Mayor's Marathon titles

Courtesy: UAA Media Relations
Release: 06/21/2014
Print RSS
ANCHORAGE – Former Alaska Anchorage runners David Kiplagat and Davya Flaharty won the respective men’s and women’s marathon titles in Saturday’s 41st annual Mayor’s Midnight Sun Marathon & Half-Marathon, presented by ConocoPhillips.

Kiplagat, originally from Kenya and now stationed with the U.S. Army in Colorado, defended his men’s title in 2 hours, 32 minutes, 11 seconds, followed closely by his brother and fellow Seawolf alumnus Paul Rottich in 2:32:13. Solomon Kandie, a former Tulane University runner and brother of Kiplagat and Rottich, place third in 2:32:24.

On the women’s side, Flaharty, of Fairbanks, earned her first Mayor’s crown with a sub-3-hour time of 2:59:51. Anchorage’s Kirsten Kolb was runner-up in 3:05:46, while yet another former Seawolf, Kiersten Lippmann, placed third in 3:06:28.

In the half-marathon, Anchorage’s Allan Spangler took the title in 1:15:16, outdistancing Soldotna’s Derek Gibson by 70 seconds. The women’s race was won by Anchorage’s Anna Dalton – a former collegiate runner who was the full-marathon winner in 2013 – in 1:26:15.

Saturday’s 4-miler titles went to Dallas native Jerry Perkins (21:23) and former Seawolf standout Hallidie Wilt (22:33).

Wasilla’s Gavin McMullen (7 minutes, 46 seconds) and Anchorage’s Gracie Hardham (8:15) won the 1.3-mile Youth Cup crowns.

The Mayor's Midnight Sun Marathon and Half-Marathon is organized by the University of Alaska Anchorage Department of Athletics and the Municipality of Anchorage. Nearly 4,400 runners participated in this year's event, representing all 50 states and 15 countries.

Complete results are available at


JUNE 17, 2017




Wells Fargo
Alaska Air
Ford ad slider 2016
KTVA ad slider