2003 Seawolf Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

The second women’s basketball player to be inducted to the Seawolf Hall of Fame, Wendy Sturgis was a three-time all-conference selection and helped UAA to the title of the 1990 Northern Lights Invitational.

In his four years in green and gold, Dean Larson led the Seawolves to three consecutive NCAA Tournament berths, including an upset of No. 2- ranked Boston College in 1991. UAA’s all-time leading scorer with 200 points, he is the third skater to enter the Hall.

Longtime booster Chuck Homan recalls the early days of UAA’s hockey program as it grew from a fledgling club team to NCAA Division II and eventually Division I.

Jennie Krupp, who played from 1988-92 under her maiden name of Szczerbinski, still holds 12 school records and ranks No. 7 on the NCAA’s all-time Division II digs list. The mainstay on two NCAA Tournament teams, she is the second volleyball player to be enshrined.

Dr. Jay Caldwell recites the Alfred Lord Tennyson poem “Ulysses” during his induction speech. Among his many contributions to the community, Dr. Caldwell has volunteered his time and expertise since 1979 as UAA’s head team physician.

Chuck Homan (right) receives congratulations from fellow Seawolf Hall of Famer Lee Piccard during the unveiling ceremony.

The 2003 Class of the Seawolf Hall of Fame awaits the unveiling of their plaques on the Wells Fargo Sports Complex concourse.