INDIANAPOLIS – Having already recorded one of the top seasons in program history, Alaska Anchorage junior Sophia Hyderally will get a chance to continue her 2019 campaign as an individual qualifier on balance beam at the upcoming NCAA Div. I Women’s Gymnastics Regional Championships.

With a school-record 9.875 national qualifying score, Hyderally becomes the 14th gymnast in UAA history to qualify for the NCAA regionals, and the first on beam. The Daphne, Alabama, native will compete in at the Oregon State regional site, April 5 at 1 p.m. Alaska Daylight Time.

The top event specialist from each regional site who is not part of an advancing team, or an all-around competitor, will advance to the national championship meet, April 19-20 in Fort Worth, Texas.

Hyderally led the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation in beam NQS and earned her second beam title in three years with a 9.9 on Saturday at the MPSF Championships in Seattle. She also set a school record this season for floor exercise average at 9.798, helping the Seawolves set 11 team school records, including highest overall average score (192.370).

Alaska Anchorage Gymnastics
NCAA Regional Championships Individual Qualifiers
Year     Gymnast                            Site                      Event
2019     Sophia Hyderally            Corvallis             Balance Beam
2016     M’rcy Matsunami          Salt Lake City    All-Around
2015     M’rcy Matsunami          Berkeley            All-Around
2014     Stefany Bryan                  Seattle                All-Around
2013     M’rcy Matsunami          Corvallis             Vault
2012     Morgan Cook                   Seattle                All-Around
2009     Leah Wilson                      Seattle                All-Around
2006     Lauren Agostino             Stanford            All-Around
2006     Jessica Portlock               Stanford            All-Around
2005     Dominique Ingram        Seattle                Vault
2003     Mandi Burdick                 Seattle                All-Around
2003     Jesse Currie                      Seattle                All-Around
1998     Jessi Simmons                 Seattle                All-Around
1997     Elena Tkacheva               Boise                   All-Around
1996     Elena Tkacheva               Los Angeles      All-Around
1995     Elena Tkacheva               Corvallis             All-Around
1994     Elena Tkacheva               Boise                   All-Around
1994     Kerry Robitaille               Boise                   All-Around
1988     Annette Nicolaus           Corvallis             All-Around