ANCHORAGE (Nov. 18) – Junior center Hannah Wandersee led a balanced attack with 16 points, six rebounds and four blocks Saturday as 4th-ranked Alaska Anchorage earned the unofficial title of the Seawolf Hoops Classic with an 82-54 women’s basketball victory over Western State at the Alaska Airlines Center.

The Seawolves (5-0) also got a career-high 11 points from sophomore point guard Yazmeen Goo, 10 points and four assists from senior guard Rodericka Ware, and nine points, four rebounds and three steals from junior guard Kian McNair – all of whom made the all-tournament team.

Wandersee shot 8 of 13 from the field dished two assists in just 20 minutes of action, earning the Classic’s Most Outstanding Player honor. The Kodiak product has scored double figures in every game this season, leading UAA with 17.4 ppg.

The Mountaineers (1-3) – from Gunnison, Colo., and the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference – were led by 15 points from guard Katie Dalton, plus four assists from all-tourney selection Tammarah Gothard.

UAA led 15-11 after shooting just 27 percent in the first quarter, but the Seawolves pulled away with a 27-9 run over the next 10 minutes.

“I thought we played our most complete game of the season thus far,” said UAA head coach Ryan McCarthy. “Defensively we were outstanding for the first three quarters, and our offense seems to be clicking well for this early in the year. It’s great to go into the (GCI Great Alaska) Shootout with some nice momentum.”

Nine different Seawolves scored at least six points, including freshman guard Nicole Pinckney and junior guard Sydni Stallworth with seven apiece.

The Seawolves open play in the GCI Great Alaska Shootout – the final edition of the storied tournament – on Tuesday at 8 p.m. against Div. I foe Maryland Eastern Shore at the Alaska Airlines Center.

Call 907-786-1562 to order tickets or visit for more information.

2017 Seawolf Hoops Classic All-Tournament Team
Yazmeen Goo, Alaska Anchorage
Ashlie Blackburn, Alaska Fairbanks
Kian McNair, Alaska Anchorage
Tammarah Gothard, Western State
Rodericka Ware, Alaska Anchorage
Most Outstanding Player: Hannah Wandersee, Alaska Anchorage