INDIANAPOLIS – The Alaska Anchorage women’s basketball team is back in NCAA Div. II Women’s Basketball Championships as the Seawolves earned an at-large bid to the 2014 West Regional Championships in Pomona, Calif., when the national field was unveiled Sunday night.

The Seawolves (19-8) are the No. 8 seed and play host and top-seeded Cal Poly Pomona (22-6) on Friday evening at Kellogg Gymnasium. UAA will be making the 13th NCAA appearance in program history and the first under second-year head coach Ryan McCarthy.

UAA and CPP will meet for the fourth time in NCAA Tournament play, with the Broncos holding a 2-1 advantage. The Broncos are the California Collegiate Athletic Association regular-season champions and ranked No. 18 in the latest national poll.

The UAA-CPP winner faces the survivor of the game between 4th-seeded Cal State Dominguez Hills (20-9) and 5th-seeded Chico State (18-9) in Saturday’s late regional semifinal, with the title game set for Monday evening.

The other half of the West bracket features No. 2 Montana State Billings (23-7) against No. 7 Academy of Art (23-7), and a rematch of the Great Northwest Athletic Conference title game with No. 3 Simon Fraser against (19-9) vs. No. 6 Western Washington (19-9).

Along with the other seven regional champions, the West Region winner will move on to the NCAA Division II Elite Eight in Erie, Pa., Mar. 25, 26 and 28, to battle for the national title.

2014 NCAA Division II West Regional
Women’s Basketball Championships
Mar. 14, 15 & 17 – Kellogg Gymnasium – Pomona, Calif.
All times Alaska Daylight
(Times TBA)
First Round – Friday, Mar. 14
11 a.m. – #6 Western Washington (19-9) vs #3 Simon Fraser (19-9)
1:30 p.m. – #7 Academy of Art (23-7) vs #2 Montana St. Billings (23-7)
4 p.m. – #5 Chico State (18-9) vs #4 Cal St. Dominguez Hills (20-9)
6:30 p.m. – #8 Alaska Anchorage (19-8) vs #1 Cal Poly Pomona (22-6)
Semifinals – Saturday, Mar. 15
4 p.m. SFU/WWU winner vs. MSUB/Art winner
6:30 p.m. CSUDH/Chico winner vs CPP/UAA winner
Finals – Monday, Mar. 17
6 pm - Semifinal winners