PORTLAND, Ore. – Eight members – four men and four women – of the Alaska Anchorage cross country teams were named to the 2013 Great Northwest Athletic Conference All-Conference Academic Team, announced by the league Wednesday.

The Seawolves join a combined 68 student-athletes – 31 men and 37 women – who received the recognition, including four with perfect 4.0 GPAs. Leading the Seawolf pack was sophomore Sarah Freistone (undeclared) as one of the 4.0 student-athletes.

Joining Freistone for UAA were junior Bryn Haebe (nursing, psychology & dietetics), senior Christi Schmitz (languages) and sophomore Jessica Pahkala (undeclared) on the women’s side. For the men’s team, the Seawolves furnished honors to junior Kevin Rooke (finance), sophomore Jesse Miller (civil engineering), sophomore Dominik Notz (undeclared) and junior Isaac Kangogo (accounting).

The honor was the second for Haebe, Schmitz and Rooke. Overall, seven athletes were named to the team for the third time, while an additional 18 athletes – six men and 12 women – were named to the team for the second time.

To qualify for the academic team athletes must have a minimum GPA of at least 3.20 and competing in at least their second season at their respective universities.

The Seawolves head to Spokane, Wash., this Saturday for the 2013 NCAA Div. II West Regional Championships.