PORTLAND, Ore.  –   Alaska Anchorage’s Micah Chelimo was voted the 2012-13 Great Northwest Athletic Conference Male Co-Athlete of the Year, becoming just the second Seawolf male to garner the honor.

Chelimo shares the prestigious honor with Western Washington’s John Allen. The selections were made by the conference’s athletic directors, with each athlete receiving five first-place votes and a total of 22 ballot points. UAA's David Registe received the same honor in 2008.

In the fall, Chelimo, from Kapkoi, Kenya, became the first athlete in GNAC history to win the NCAA Division II individual cross country title, leading the Seawolves to a third-place team finish in the national meet – his fourth straight cross country All-American award. Chelimo also finished 40th in his freshman season, then placed 21st in 2010 and 15th in 2011.

In the winter, he won the NCAA Div. II Indoor 5,000 meter title in a time of 14:12.82, while finishing fourth in the 3,000 in a GNAC-record time of 8:11.73.

At the GNAC championship meet, Chelimo earned Outstanding Performer honors winning the mile (4:12.46), 3,000 (8:29.35) and 5,000 (14:55.17).

Chelimo was voted the GNAC Indoor Track and Field Athlete of the Year and also was selected the USTFCCCA West Region Track Athlete of the Year.

GNAC Athletes-of-the-Year
Years         Male                                                                                    
2001-02     Mike Hinshaw, Western Oregon (Football and Track & Field)       
2002-03     Fred Hooks, Humboldt State (Basketball)                                  
2003-04     Austin Nichols, Humboldt State (Basketball)                              
2004-05     Chris Randolph, Seattle Pacific (Track & Field)/Bobby McAlister, Seattle (Soccer)
2005-06     Chris Randolph, Seattle Pacific (Track & Field)/Grant Dykstra, Western Washington (Basketball)
2006-07     Dustin Bremerman, Seattle Pacific (Basketball)                          
2007-08     David Registe, Alaska Anchorage (Track & Field)                               
2008-09     Mike Reilly, Central Washington (Football)                                
2009-10     Johnny Spevak, Central Washington (Football)                          
2010-11     Ryan Brown, Western Washington (Track & Field)                     
2011-12     Grady Wood, Western Oregon (Baseball)                                  
2012-13     John Allen, Western Washington (Basketball)/Micah Chelimo, Alaska Anchorage (Track & Field)