ANCHORAGE – Freshman Blake Tatchell was selected as the Most Valuable Player on Thursday as the Alaska Anchorage hockey team wrapped up the 2012-13 campaign with its annual team banquet at the Anchorage Marriott Downtown. Other individual honors went to seniors Chris Crowell, Tyler Currier, Daniel Naslund and Scott Warner and freshman Bobby Murphy.

Tatchell, a local of North Battleford, Saskatchewan, became the first freshman since 2002-03 to lead the Seawolves in scoring with 25 points and a team-high 16 assists. Tatchell scored at least one point in a team-high 18 games, while finishing third on the team with nine goals. In addition to MVP honors, Tatchell was recognized by the team as the Rookie of the Year. Tatchell was the lone Seawolf freshman to dress in all 36 games.

Racking in the Most Improved honor was Murphy, a forward from Anchorage. During the first half of the season, Murphy produced just one assist and dressed in 10 games, before suiting up in 17 of 18 games in the second half and registering two goals and an assist.

This year’s Corner Man award went to Naslund, a local of Nykoping, Sweden, while Most Inspirational went to Warner, an Anchorage native. Naslund dressed in all but one game this season, recording 4-6—10 totals, while Warner didn’t miss a game during his final campaign, posting 3-3—6 totals from the blueline.

Receiving the team’s Jack Peterson Student-Athlete award was Crowell. As a civil engineering major, Crowell (Williams Lake, B.C.) led the Seawolves on and off the ice as captain and with a team-high 3.69 GPA. This season, Crowell received his third WCHA All-Academic Team honor and was named to the WCHA Scholar-Athlete Team for the third time.

The Leon Thompson Fan Favorite award, voted by the fans on the official UAA Facebook page, went to Currier. Currier, a local product, posted four goals in his senior season, while dressing in all 36 contests.

In addition to the athlete honors, the Brush Christianson Trailblazer was awarded to KTZN ‘The Zone’ play-by-play man Kurt Haider.

Team MVP* – Blake Tatchell
Rookie of the Year* – Blake Tatchell
Most Inspirational* – Scott Warner
Most Improved*– Bobby Murphy
Corner Man* – Daniel Naslund
Leon Thompson Fan Favorite – Tyler Currier
Jack Peterson Student-Athlete – Chris Crowell
Brush Christiansen Trailblazer – Kurt Haider
 *Award voted on by members of the UAA hockey team.