NEW ORLEANS, La. – Senior Micah Chelimo led Alaska Anchorage on Monday as the 2012 Div. II Cross Country Men’s Scholar Athlete of the Year, while the Seawolves took home U.S. Track & Field Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) men’s and women’s Scholar Team honors and eight individuals received All-Academic status.

Chelimo, the 2012 NCAA Div. II Cross Country Champion from Kapkoi, Kenya, posted a 3.26 cumulative grade point average in mechanical engineering to become UAA’s first USTFCCCA Men’s Scholar Athlete of the Year. Chelimo, who finished the 2012 slate undefeated, was also among those Seawolves to register All-Academic cross country status.

Joining Chelimo and 205 other student-athletes on the men’s side were senior Alfred Kangogo, sophomore Kevin Rooke and freshman Dominik Notz. Combined the UAA men’s team used a GPA of 3.21 for All-Academic Team honors.

On the women’s side, the Seawolves posted a combined GPA of 3.25 for All-Academic Team status with four out of 345 being honored individually for UAA. Being recognized for the Seawolves were seniors Miriam Kipng’eno and Katie Krehlik, sophomore Bryn Haebe and freshman Sarah Freistone.

To qualify for the USTFCCCA All-Academic Track and Field Team in Division II, the student-athlete must have compiled a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 or greater through the most-recent semester, completed at least 12 credit hours in the semester of cross country competition, and placed in the top 50 percent at the most recent NCAA National Championships or in the top 30 percent at the NCAA Regional Championships.

To qualify as a USTFCCCA All-Academic Cross Country Team, the team must have had a cumulative team GPA of 3.00 or better and have compiled a team score at their respective NCAA regional championship.