MADISON, Wis. –  Six members of the Alaska Anchorage Seawolves’ hockey team were among a record 114 men and women named to the 2012-13 Western Collegiate Hockey Association Scholar-Athlete Team, announced by the league on Wednesday.

Led by three-time honoree senior Chris Crowell, the Seawolves’ six recipients is a program high, tying last season's six.  Picking up their second career award were senior Scott Warner and junior Matt Bailey, while senior Daniel Naslund, junior Quinn Sproule and sophomore Kory Roy each received the accolade for the first time.

Crowell becomes just the third Seawolf to receive the distinction for the third time, joining goaltenders Jon Olthuis and Dusan Sidor and he is among 21 other WCHA student-athletes that were honored for the third time this year.

In 2005-06, the inaugural season of the WCHA Scholar-Athlete award, there were 47 men’s and women’s honorees. In 2006-07, there were 49 honorees, in 2007-08 there were 79, in 2008-09 there were 71, in 2009-10 there were 80, in 2010-11 there were 90 and last year (2011-12) there were 110.

The six Seawolves will be honored publically this Friday at the Nebraska Omaha game at the Sullivan Arena.