THIS WEEK: The Alaska Anchorage men's and women's cross country teams return to action following a 27-day break from competition with the Western Washington Classic Invitational on Oct. 6 in Bellingham, Wash.


WHAT: 39th annual Western Washington Classic Invitational
WHEN: Oct. 6 at 9:30 a.m. ADT
WHERE: East Lake Padden Park, Bellingham, Wash.
NOTES: The men's teams will compete in a 10K, while the women's teams will race a 6K ... UAA will see members of the Great Northwest Athletic Conference for the first time of the season when they take on host Western Washington, Alaska Fairbanks, Central Washington, Saint Martin's and Simon Fraser ... the men will likely see tough competition from WWU and WOU, while the women will look to hold off SFU.

The UAA men's and women's cross country teams continue to be ranked in the top 10 nationally in Week 2 of the U.S. Track & Field Cross Country Coaches Association with the women's team and men's squad remaining at No. 5 and No. 8, respectively ... the women's team leads the West Region over Chico State (No. 2) and Simon Fraser (No. 3), while the men's team is No. 2, trailing Chico State (No. 1) and leading No. 3 Western Washington ... the women have been ranked in the top 10 for 35 weeks straight, while the men's team has cracked the top 15 for 22 consecutive weeks ... next national poll comes out Oct. 3. See complete poll on page 4.

GNAC ATHLETE OF THE WEEK: Junior Susan Tanui was named the GNAC Red Lion Female Athlete of the Week for cross country on Sept. 10, following her second individual victory in as many weeks at the University of Hawaii Big Wave Invitational ... Tanui, a local of Eldoret, Kenya, cruised to the finish line with a time of 18:09 in the 5K race in Kaneohe, O'ahu, leading the Seawolves to their second consecutive team title ... Tanui also won the Hawaii Pacific Invite on Sept. 1, pacing UAA to its first win of the 2012 slate ... Tanui joins senior Micah Chelimo, who took home league honors on Sept. 3.

HAWAII MEET RECAP: Both Seawolf squads started the season with a pair of team victories in Hawaii in September ... the Seawolves swept the Hawaii Pacific Invite on Sept. 1 and received individual wins from senior Micah Chelimo (Kapkoi, Kenya) and junior Susan Tanui (Eldoret, Kenya) ... on Sept. 8, UAA went on to claim titles at the Hawaii Big Wave Invitational, while Chelimo and Tanui also raced to individual wins ... junior Ivy O'Guinn was third in both women's races, while sophomore Dylan Anthony finished runner-up to Chelimo in both men's races.

2012 SEASON PREVIEW: The Seawolves return to action with 15 letterwinners - including nine with NCAA Championship experience - and seven newcomers ... UAA will be led by All-Americans Micah Chelimo - who will look to defend his NCAA Div. II West Region and GNAC titles - on the men's side, and by senior Miriam Kipng'eno -who finished third at the GNACs and West Region - on the women's side ... the Seawolves also return All-Americans Ivy O'Guinn and Jake Parisien ... UAA will start its campaign with two Hawaii meets in September, before the WWU Classic and GNAC Championships in October and followed by the NCAA West Regional and NCAA Championships in November.

2011 SEASON RECAP: The Alaska Anchorage men's and women's cross country running teams completed with regular season with a perfect 12 team victories before finishing sixth on the women's side and eighth on the men's side at the 2011 NCAA Div. II Championships for the second straight season ... combined, UAA received four All-America honors ... both squads swept the Great Northwest Athletic Conference Championships and NCAA Div. II West Region Championships for the second consecutive year, while landing 12 on the All-West Region team and eight on the All-Conference team ... individually, senior Ruth Keino, who completed the regular season undefeated, and Micah Chelimo were each named the West Region and GNAC Female and Male Runners of the Year, respectively ... for the second straight year, head coach Michael Friess swept the men's and women's West Region and GNAC Coach of the Year honors.