ANCHORAGE -- Beginning June 13 at 12:01 p.m., basketball fans from around the state of Alaska will have the opportunity to receive complimentary roundtrip airfare to Anchorage for the 2012 Carrs/Safeway Great Alaska Shootout, set for Nov. 20-24 at the Sullivan Arena.

Complimentary airfare to Anchorage from select cities around the state will be available to Alaskans with the purchase of a Shootout general admission ticket package for $120 (plus $7 processing fee).  Game packages include admission to all 16 men's and women's basketball games.  Airfare availability is on a first come, first serve basis while supplies last.

Made possible by funding through the State of Alaska, it is anticipated that more than 1,500 people will be accommodated through the program. Free travel will be available from the following Anchorage hub communities: Barrow, Bethel, Cordova, Dillingham, Fairbanks, Homer, Juneau, Kenai, Ketchikan, King Salmon, Kodiak, Kotzebue, Nome, Petersburg, Sitka, Valdez, Wrangell and Yakutat. Availability of free airline tickets will vary by community and be available strictly on a first-come, first-serve basis.

"This is an exciting program for the Shootout and for basketball fans throughout the state, especially for those who have never had the opportunity to see the games in person," said Dr. Steve Cobb, UAA director of athletics. "The Shootout has been a Thanksgiving week tradition in Alaska for 35 years and we're grateful to the State of Alaska for helping to make it possible to share that tradition with fans from across the state."

It is estimated that the program will generate an economic impact of nearly $2 million to Anchorage and the surrounding area. The program will be administered through USTravel, and airline travel will be via Alaska Airlines, Era Alaska and PenAir. Discounted Anchorage hotel and rental car reservations will also be available through the program.

A web link to be part of the program is available at More information is available by sending an email to

The 35th annual Shootout, hosted by the University of Alaska Anchorage, will feature men's team from UAA, Belmont, Charlotte, Loyola Marymount, Northeastern, Oral Roberts, Texas State and UC Riverside, along with women's squads from UAA, Prairie View A&M, Utah State and one team still to be announced.