ANCHORAGE – The University of Alaska Anchorage women’s basketball program was honored Tuesday as the first-ever recipient of the Alaska Sports Hall of Fame’s Pride of Alaska Award, recognizing the Seawolves’ remarkable accomplishments over the past five-plus seasons.

The award, which honors one male and one female person or group, is bestowed on an athlete, coach or team “who have not only excelled in sports in the past year or recent years, but who have done so with integrity and sportsmanship so as to be a positive role model for others.”

Head coach Tim Moser and UAA Athletic Director Dr. Steve Cobb were on hand Tuesday at the announcement of the Hall's inaugural Director’s Awards at Special Olympics headquarters. The honor will be officially bestowed at the Hall's annual induction ceremony, Feb. 28 at the Anchorage Museum.

Under 6th-year coach Moser, the UAA Women have posted a remarkable 150-30 record, including trips to the NCAA Final Four in both 2008 and 2009. Currently, the Seawolves have been ranked in the NCAA Div. II top-25 poll for a nation-best 73 consecutive weeks and are ranked 14th heading into this week’s home games against Western Oregon and Saint Martin’s.

The Pride of Alaska citation also lauded the Seawolves for their four straight Carrs/Safeway Great Alaska Shootout titles and five straight NCAA Tournament berths – advancing past the first round every year.

“This is a great honor for our program because it not only recognizes our success on the court, but also how we teach and encourage our student-athletes to show good sportsmanship and set positive examples,” said Moser, whose .833 winning percentage is No. 1 among all active NCAA Div. II coaches.

This marks the second honor for a UAA entity in the Alaska Sports Hall of Fame, joining the Shootout’s 2008 induction under the ‘event’ category.