ANCHORAGE - Paul Crews, the bedrock of UAA's ski program for two decades, and Jim Hajdukovich, one of the most prolific men's basketball players in school history, became the latest members of the Seawolf Hall of Fame as they were inducted Sunday, Oct. 11, in ceremonies at the Wells Fargo Sports Complex.

"Both of this year's inductees helped lay the foundation for future success in their programs at UAA," said UAA athletic director Dr. Cobb. "Additionally, both have stayed here in Alaska and distinguished themselves in their respective communities. We are proud to see them join this Seawolf Hall-of-Fame group."

Nominations for the 2009 class were accepted through April 10. Former UAA student-athletes and teams are eligible for nomination 10 years following their last competition at UAA. Former UAA coaches and staff members are eligible five years following their university service. Volunteer contributors may be nominated at any time.

Seawolf Hall of Fame inductees are chosen by an athletic director-appointed committee consisting of UAA Athletics staff, coaches, boosters, volunteers and faculty members.

Here is a look at both inductees' accomplishments:

For two decades, Paul Crews [1982-2001] was the bedrock of an Alaska Anchorage program that has been one of the most consistent winners in collegiate skiing. Following a collegiate career at Western State, he earned a spot on the World Cup downhill tour in 1971-72, becoming the first Alaskan to qualify for the U.S. Ski Team. Crews rejoined the national team as a coach in 1980, and two years later he returned home to join the Seawolves as an Alpine assistant to fellow Seawolf Hall-of-Famer Tom Besh. The 1990 season would be the first of Crews' 11 seasons as head coach, with the team never placing worse than 10th at NCAAs. In 1991, the Seawolves produced the first of five national champions under his watch when Stig Matsson claimed the 20K classical title. Izidor Jerman became the first UAA Alpiner to earn a national title with a slalom win in 1997 - one of three Seawolves to win individual crowns that year. Crews' team skied to a school-record fifth-place finish at the 1993 NCAA Championships and equaled that feat in 1997 and 1998. Individually, 48 Seawolves claimed All-America honors under his tutelage. Before retiring from the program in 2001, he was instrumental in landing the 2002 NCAA Skiing Championships that UAA hosted at Kincaid Park and Alyeska Ski Resort. It was the second time Crews helped UAA earn an NCAA host role (1987), and it ended in triumph as his former recruit, Aurore de Maulmont, became the first UAA Alpine woman to win a national title. Along with his accomplishments at UAA, Crews also worked with former Olympic gold medalist Tommy Moe during his heyday in the early 1990s. Currently the director of the Alyeska Ski Club, he has helped host the U.S. National Alpine Championships in 2005, 2007 and 2009. He and his wife Barbara live in Girdwood and are the parents of three children, Abigail, Laura and Nicholas.

At 6-2 and 190 pounds, Jim Hajdukovich [1995-99] didn't play every position on the basketball court, but to look at his collegiate statistics, it certainly seems that he did. Following a standout prep career at Fairbanks' Monroe Catholic High School and a redshirt season at Division I Fresno State, the gritty guard quickly earned a reputation as a fan favorite at UAA, scoring a freshman-record 288 points in 1995-96. Four years later, he would leave with a school-record 1,472 points as well as the top career marks in assists (371), steals (192) and three-pointers made (238). Hajdukovich went on to become the first 4-year letterwinner at UAA to score double digits in all of his seasons, and 10 years later he still holds top-10 career ranks in steals (1st), assists (2nd), three-pointers made (2nd, 238), points (4th), blocks (4th, 78) and rebounds (7th, 526). As a sophomore in 1996-97, he entered the starting lineup early in the year and helped the Seawolves to an outright Pacific West Conference title and the first of back-to-back NCAA Tournament appearances. Averaging better than 15 points his last two years, Hajdukovich regularly put up monster stat nights - a triple-double (25 points, 11 rebounds, 10 assists) against Seattle Pacific; 21 points, 10 rebounds and four steals in a Shootout overtime win against Notre Dame; 30 points in a postseason-clinching victory over Western New Mexico - and earned all-league, all-region and team MVP awards. After graduating with a degree in economics, he was honored permanently by the men's basketball program when the team's 'Iron Man' award was renamed the Jim Hajdukovich Trophy, presented to the player who best displays physical toughness, endurance and court awareness. Today Hajdukovich is the president of Frontier Flying and a vice president for Era Aviation as well as an active member of several community organizations, including the Fairbanks Chamber of Commerce and the non-profit Challenge Life. He and his wife, former Seawolf player Michelle Titus Hajdukovich, are the parents of three children Jahnna, James and Marek.


Seawolf Hall of Fame Classes

Rick Stafford, men's basketball, 1995-97

Rob Conn, hockey, 1988-91
Elena (Tkacheva) Lowery, gymnastics, 1994-97

Allegra (Stoetzel) Butler, women’s basketball, 1992-96
Derek Donald, hockey, 1988-92
Harry Larrabee, basketball coach/administrator/athletic director, 1979- 86 & 1991-2000

Jason Kaiser, men’s basketball, 1993-95
Pete McEnaney, hockey, 1984-88
Ron Petro, athletic director, 1984-92
Ken Ralph, swimming, 1988-90

Cheryl Bishop, women’s basketball, 1982-87
Tiina (Kantola) Hoffman, skiing & cross country, 1982-92
Paul Krake, hockey, 1988-92
Jack Peterson, faculty athletic representative, 1975-97

Dr. Jay Caldwell, team physician, 1979-04
Wendy Sturgis, women’s basketball, 1988-92
Chuck Homan, hockey booster, 1977-present
Jennie (Szczerbinski) Krupp, volleyball, 1988-92
Dean Larson, hockey, 1988-92

Brush Christiansen, hockey coach, 1979-96
Jesse Jackson, men’s basketball, 1985-87
Britta Kjellstrand, women’s skiing & cross country, 1978-82
Jon Pauole, swimming, 1989-92
Mike Peluso, hockey, 1985-89

Tom Besh, ski coach, 1977-90
Teri Frankie-LaVallee, gymnastics, 1985-90
Hansi Gnad, men's basketball, 1983-87
Robin Graul, women’s basketball, 1985-89
Dr. Lee Piccard, administrator, 1976-94
Dennis Sorenson, hockey, 1980-84
Tracy Zink, volleyball, 1987-90