ANCHORAGE – A trend-setting two-sport athlete, Tobias Schwoerer, and one of the most dedicated boosters in program history, Peter Hupperten, will comprise the 2013 class of the Seawolf Hall of Fame, interim athletic director Tim McDiffett announced Monday.

The Class of 2013 will be inducted in a public ceremony at the Wells Fargo Sports Complex on Sunday, Oct. 13.

“This year’s inductees have both shown a tremendous amount of pride and dedication in their association with UAA,” McDiffett said. “I’d like to commend (committee chair) Sparky Anderson and the Hall of Fame committee on selecting two wonderful additions.”

Nominations for the 2013 class were accepted through May 1. Former UAA student-athletes and teams are eligible for nomination 10 years following their last competition at UAA. Former UAA coaches and staff members are eligible five years following their university service. Volunteer contributors may be nominated at any time.

Seawolf Hall of Fame inductees are chosen by an athletic director-appointed committee consisting of UAA Athletics staff, coaches, boosters, volunteers and faculty members.

Here is a look at the accomplishments of the Seawolf Hall of Fame Class of ’13:

From the time he premiered in a Seawolf uniform, Tobias Schwoerer [2000-03] continued to raise the bar for success in both of his sports. A five-time All-American in Nordic skiing and the program’s first-ever All-American in cross country, Schwoerer became the second Seawolf to earn at least six such honors, doing so in just three years. The native of Lenzkirch, Germany, was also the second student-athlete to twice be selected UAA’s Bill MacKay Athlete of the Year and is still the only one to do it consecutively. After becoming the men’s cross country program’s first individual NCAA qualifier in 2000, Schwoerer followed by leading the Seawolves to their first-ever team berth in 2001, where he claimed All-America honors with a 35th-place finish. In his final season, he anchored a Seawolf squad that finished No. 12 in the nation and won the program’s first Great Northwest Athletic Conference title. On the ski trails, Schwoerer placed 7th or higher in five of his six career appearances at the NCAA Championships, ending with a pair of 3rd-place showings as a senior in 2003. With a 4th-place finish in the 20K freestyle and a 5th-place finish in the 10K classical at the 2002 NCAA Skiing Championships, became the first male Division II athlete to earn the running-skiing All-America double in the same year. Schwoerer posted three regular-season victories in his final ski campaign, including the 2003 NCAA West Region title in the 15K classical, as he found the podium in in nine of his 11 races. A star in the classroom as well, Schwoerer was a First Team Academic All-American and was named the GNAC’s Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year in 2001-02. In 2002-03, he also earned UAA’s prestigious Dresser Cup as the Seawolves’ top overall student with a 3.90 GPA. Schwoerer earned a B.A. in economics from UAA in 2003 and added an M.S. in resource management from Simon Fraser University in 2007. A former champion of both Mount Marathon and Crow Pass Crossing, Schwoerer still lives in Anchorage and works for UAA’s Institute of Social and Economic Research, where he focuses on analyzing economic concerns related to eco-system services and energy options for rural Alaska. He and his wife Darcy were married in 2010 and have a son, Suvan.

As a booster, a volunteer and a fan, the contributions of Peter Hupperten [1984-present] have been invaluable to Seawolf Athletics. A longtime insurance broker in Anchorage, Hupperten began his association with UAA in 1984, founding the Benton Bay Athletic Lions Club and forming an immediate partnership with the Seawolves. Clad in their familiar gold bibs, Benton Bay members have been a fixture at all UAA contests since, volunteering over 15,000 hours and raising hundreds of thousands of dollars for Seawolf Athletics. In 1984-85, Hupperten and the Lions began another tradition by teaming with UAA to start the Athlete of the Year program, now known as the Bill MacKay Athlete of the Year. Along with then-athletic director Ron Petro, he was also instrumental in founding the Seawolf Booster Club, now known as the Seawolf Athletic Association. Starting with the 1985-86 campaign, Hupperten volunteered his services in yet another capacity, becoming the official videographer for Seawolf hockey, and continuing in that role until his ‘retirement’ in 2011 – at age 90. A native of Spokane, Wash., Hupperten played football at Washington State University, earning his B.S., in police science in 1942. Commissioned as a lieutenant, he served in World War II in the South Pacific and China, and in the Chinese Civil War. Following his long military service, he worked for USF&G in both Portland and Seattle, where he was a pioneer for girls’ high school sports during the 1960s. Hupperten moved to Anchorage in 1966 and joined the Spenard Lions Club one year later. The father of two children, Hupperten still attends as many Seawolf events as possible with his wife Karan.

Seawolf Hall of Fame Classes

Peter Hupperten, booster/volunteer, 1984-present

            Tobias Schwoerer, cross country/Nordic skiing, 2000-03

2012   Charlie Bruns, men’s basketball coach, 1980-2004

            Doug Spooner, hockey, 1987-91

William ‘Bill’ MacKay, 1985-

            Dr. William J. Mills, team physician emeritus, 1976-

            Zuzana Razusova, women’s skiing, 1995-98

            Ryan Williams, men’s basketball, 1995-97

Linda Bruns, women’s basketball coach, 1979-90

2009   Paul Crews, ski coach, 1982-2001

            Jim Hajdukovich, men’s basketball, 1995-99

Rick Stafford, men’s basketball, 1995-97

2007   Rob Conn, hockey, 1988-91

            Elena (Tkacheva) Lowery, gymnastics, 1994-97

2006   Allegra (Stoetzel) Butler, women’s basketball, 1992-96

            Derek Donald, hockey, 1988-92

            Harry Larrabee, basketball coach/administrator/athletic director, 1979-86 & 1991-2000


2005   Jason Kaiser, men’s basketball, 1993-95

            Pete McEnaney, hockey, 1984-88

            Ron Petro, athletic director, 1984-92

            Ken Ralph, swimming, 1988-90

2004   Cheryl Bishop, women’s basketball, 1982-87

            Tiina (Kantola) Hoffman, skiing & cross country, 1982-92

            Paul Krake, hockey, 1988-92

            Jack Peterson, faculty athletic representative, 1975-97

2003   Dr. Jay Caldwell, team physician, 1979-04

            Wendy Sturgis, women’s basketball, 1988-92

            Chuck Homan, hockey booster, 1977-present

            Jennie (Szczerbinski) Krupp, volleyball, 1988-92

            Dean Larson, hockey, 1988-92

2002   Brush Christiansen, hockey coach, 1979-96

            Jesse Jackson, men’s basketball, 1985-87

            Britta Kjellstrand, women’s skiing & cross country, 1978-82

            Jon Pauole, swimming, 1989-92

            Mike Peluso, hockey, 1985-89

2001   Tom Besh, ski coach, 1977-90

            Teri Frankie-Lavallee, gymnastics, 1985-90

            Hansi Gnad, men's basketball, 1983-87

            Robin Graul, women’s basketball, 1985-89

            Dr. Lee Piccard, administrator, 1976-94

            Dennis Sorenson, hockey, 1980-84

            Tracy Zink, volleyball, 1987-90