Ka'a'awa, Hawaii - Paced by individual wins by Micah Chelimo and Susan Tanui, the Alaska Anchorage men's and women's cross country teams started the 2012 slate with victories at the Hawaii Pacific Invitational on Saturday.

The men's team posted a pefect score of 15 with 1-8 placings, with Chelimo (Kapkoi, Kenay) leading the Seawolf pack at 15:33. Sophomore Dylan Anthony (15:42) was second, followed by senior Alfred Kangogo (15:55), sophomore Isaac Kangogo (16:01), senior Jake Parisien (16:15) and freshmen Andrey Ionashku (16.21) and Dominik Notz(16:29).

The women's team, recorded 19 points on the heels of Tanui, a junior from Eldoret, Kenya. Tanui furnished her first individual title with the Seawolf cross country team, crossing at 18:06, while junior Ivy O’Guinn (18:40) collected a podium position in third.

Senior Miriam Kipng’eno (18:44) took fourth, followed by senior Katie Krehlik (18:45) and freshman Sarah Friestone (18:52) in fifth and sixth. Freshman Jaymi Bethea (19:06) took eighth, while sophomores Bryn Haebe (19:15) and Christi Schmitz (19:28) were ninth and 10th, respectively.

The HPU women tok second, followed by BYU-Hawaii, while BYU-Hawaii men's team took second and HPU men took third.

The Seawolves will continue to train in Hawaii before competing at the Hawaii Big Wave Invitational on Sept. 8 in Kaneohe.