SPOKANE, Wash. – Alaska Anchorage senior Taylor Rohde has been selected the Great Northwest Athletic Conference’s 2011-12 Player of the Year as the league announced its men’s basketball postseason honors Monday.

The 6-9, 255-pound center from Phoenix, Ariz. (Pinnacle HS) also repeated as an All-GNAC First Team honoree by a unanimous vote of the league’s 10 coaches, while sophomore teammate Travis Thompson was chosen Second Team All-GNAC.

Rohde – who leads the league in scoring (20.2 ppg) and field-goal percentage (.627) and ranks third in rebounding (8.0 rpg) – joins 2007-08 winner Luke Cooper as the second Seawolf to earn the GNAC POY award since the conference’s founding in 2001. It is the 11th POY honor in program history.

In helping the Seawolves to a 21-5 mark (15-3 GNAC) and a runner-up league finish, Rohde tallied 11 games of 25 points or more, including three outings of 30-plus. His seven double-doubles rank fourth in the league, including a 28-point, 16-rebound performance in a victory over Division I UC Irvine.

A double-figure scorer in 22 of the last 24 games, Rohde has shot 50-plus percent from the floor in 21 of the last 22 contests, including a current streak of 13 straight.

As a two-year transfer from Division I Arizona State, Rohde has quickly climbed up UAA’s all-time charts, reaching the 1,000-point mark in just 57 games and currently on pace to break the career record for field-goal percentage at .621. He also ranks among the program leaders in scoring average (10th, 17.9 ppg), points (15th, 1,072), rebounds (t-15th, 430), FT made (5th, 270), FT made per game (4th, 4.5), double-doubles (10th, 11) and games started (t-14th, 59).

Meanwhile, Thompson becomes just the second UAA sophomore ever to earn first- or second-team all-conference honors, joining Seawolf Hall-of-Famer Hansi Gnad, who was a first-teamer in the now-defunct Great Northwest Conference in 1983-84.

The 6-1, 195-pound shooting guard is UAA’s second-leading scorer at 11.3 ppg,  shooting 45.2 percent from three-point range and 87.5 percent at the free-throw line. He  leads the GNAC and ranks among the top five in Division II in assist-turnover ratio at 3.1-to-1, along with other top-five GNAC ranks in assists (5th, 4.3 apg), three-point pct. (3rd) and free-throw pct. (4th).

Thompson – the 2010 Alaska 4A Player of the Year at Anchorage’s Dimond High School – has scored in double figures 16 times this year, including 22 points in a road win at regionally ranked Western Oregon, 21 points in a home win over Saint Martin’s, and 15 points, 11 assists and no turnovers in a home victory over Alaska Fairbanks.

The Seawolves have a first-round bye at this week’s 2nd annual Great Northwest Athletic Conference Tournament and will play either Seattle Pacific or Central Washington in the semifinals on Friday, Mar. 2 at 11 a.m. AST.


*+Taylor Rohde, Alaska Anchorage (C, 6-9, Sr., Phoenix, AZ)
+Rory Blanche, Western Washington (F, 6-6, Sr., Ashland, OR)
Blair Wheadon, Western Oregon (G, 6-3, Sr., Junction City, OR)
Antoine Proctor, Montana State Billings (G, 6-3, Sr., Washington, DC)
David Downs, Seattle Pacific (G, 6-2, So., Kirkland, WA)
Andy Poling, Seattle Pacific (C, 6-11, Jr., Portland, OR)
+Unanimous / *Repeat selection

John Allen, Western Washington (G, 6-0, Jr., Mountlake Terrace, WA)
Lacy Haddock, Central Washington (G, 6-1, So., Las Vegas, NV)
Travis Thompson, Alaska Anchorage (G, 6-1, So., Anchorage, AK)
Justin Brown, Simon Fraser (G, 6-11, Sr., Vallejo, CA)
Jeremy Green, Saint Martin’s (F, 6-6, Sr., Kent, WA),    

HONORABLE MENTION: Nico Matthews, Alaska Fairbanks (G, 6-1, Sr., Twenty Nine Palms, CA); Jody Johnson, Central Washington (F, 6-4, Sr., Seattle, WA); Jaxon Myaer, Montana State Billings (G, 5-10, Sr., Salt Lake City, UT); Anthony Golden, Northwest Nazarene (G, 6-1, Sr., Portland, OR); Jonathan Hawkins, Northwest Nazarene (G, 6-3, Jr., Phoenix, AZ); JB Pillard, Northwest Nazarene (F, 6-7, Jr., Kirkland, WA); Brok Pendleton, Saint Martin’s (F, 6-6, Sr., Auburn, WA); Kyle Long, Western Oregon (G, 6-3, Sr., McMinnville, OR); Richard Woodworth, Western Washington (G, 6-3, So., Bellevue, WA).

Player of the Year: Taylor Rohde, Alaska Anchorage
Newcomer of the Year: Antoine Proctor, Montana State Billings
Freshman of the Year: Cory Hutsen, Seattle Pacific
Coach of the Year: Brad Jackson, Western Washington

Alaska Anchorage Conference Players of the Year
1985-86  Hansi Gnad (GNC)
1986-87  Jesse Jackson (GNC)
1987-88  Dale Bartley (GNC)
1989-90  Todd Fisher (GNC)
1993-94  Jason Kaiser (PWC)
1994-95  Jason Kaiser (PWC)
1995-96  Ryan Williams (PWC)
1996-97  Rick Stafford (PWC)
2000-01  Ed Kirk (PWC)
2007-08  Luke Cooper (GNAC)
2011-12  Taylor Rohde (GNAC)
GNC=Great Northwest Conference
PWC=Pacific West Conference
GNAC=Great Northwest Athletic Conference