KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The University of Alaska Anchorage men’s basketball has earned a 2017-18 Team Academic Excellence Award from the National Association of Basketball Coaches, which announced its sixth annual honors list Wednesday.

The Team Academic Excellence Awards recognize outstanding achievement by a team with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or better for the season, which included 184 programs at the NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA and NJCAA levels.

“I’m extremely proud of the job our young men did in the classroom this year, truly taking to heart the term ‘student-athlete’,” said UAA head coach Rusty Osborne.

The Seawolves were led academically by junior forward Brian Pearson and sophomore forward Curtis Ryan, each of whom made the Great Northwest Athletic Conference All-Academic Team.